riverdale sign

socializeblogger teensbloggerpinterestfacebook

LIBRARY HOURS

  Monday 10:00 AM 8:00 PM
  Tuesday 10:00 AM  5:00 PM
  Wednesday 10:00 AM 8:00 PM
  Thursday 10:00 AM 8:00 PM
  Friday 10:00 AM 5:00 PM
  Saturday 10:00 AM 4:00 PM
  Sunday CLOSED  
June, July and Aug. Sat hours - 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

catalogmyaccountcalendarnewslettergalleryresources

Save

All residents of the Morris County area can find reliable information on a wide variety of topics in the databases funded by MAIN and the state of New Jersey. With your library card, you have free access from home to high quality reference database subscriptions paid for by the Riverdale Public Library, the MAIN consortium, or the new Jersey State Library.

Most sites ask for your library card number. Use the barcode on the back of your card without spaces.

Databases

Hoopla Digital is Available!!! Hoopla is a new digital media service provided to our patrons through the generosity of the Friends of the Riverdale Library. Through hoopla, using your Riverdale Library card, you can access and enjoy nearly half a million titles from six different formats: Movies, TV, Music Albums, eAudiobooks , eBooks, and Comics/Graphic Novels - all in one location, from your computer, tablet or Smartphone! Go to hoopla at https://www.hoopladigital.com/ to sign up and start listening/watching/reading!!

myheritage button 100x50MyHeritage Library Edition. It is available both in the library, and remotely to MAIN library cardholders. MyHeritage Library Edition ™ is one of the largest, most internationally diverse genealogy databases of its kind in the world. It includes billions of historical documents from over 48 countries, millions of historical photos, public records, indexes and additional resources. Available in 40 languages, MyHeritage Library Edition is the industry’s most multilingual family history research database.


Job Career AcceleratorThis compreshensive online site offers resume and cover letter help, profiles of occupations, lists of internship sites, and job search help. Available through the New Jersey State Library, at the library and at home.

Rosetta Stone LogoLearn a new language! Available through the New Jersey State Library.

 

 

Gale Small Business Builder
 New Database! Available through a partnership between MAIN and Morris County Economic Development Corporation (EDC).Search this database to learn how to start, finance or manage  your small business. Resources include; sample business plans, how to guides, articles and websites.

 

 mmg2014 cover

A health database for the consumer with up-to-date and accurate information. Available to all Riverdale Public Library cardholders. Available both in the library and at home.

 

 

Name & Description Library Home
EBSCO Periodical Index and Databases Library Home
NOVELIST: Suggestions for Fiction Reading Library Home
NOVELIST: K-Grade 8 Library Home
Salem Health Library Home

 

The New Jersey State Library funds a special program to provide information to small business and schools. The following databases are funded through LISTA Funding and BTOP and can be accessed at Jersey Clicks.

Information Resources Available Through the State Library
Business

Business Source Elite
This business database provides full text for over 1,000 business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Reference USA
Provides detailed, current directory information on more than 12 million U.S. Businesses, 102 million U.S. residents, 683,000 U.S. healthcare providers, 1 million Canadian businesses and 11 million Canadian residents.
Regional Business News
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Small Business Reference Center
The Small Business Reference Center is a comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business, offering full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books. It supports small business owners in all relevant areas from planning, financing and managing a business to exit strategies. Users also have the ability to search within specific ‘Business Topics’ and ‘Business Types’ relevant to their needs.
Careers and Jobs

Job and Career Accelerator
Create resumes and cover letters, learn interviewing techniques, and prepare for related exams. Access millions of job listings.
Current Events

Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).


Education

ERIC
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, is a national information system supported by the U.S. Department of Education, the National Library of Education, and the Office of Educational Research and Improvement. It provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in TRC are peer-reviewed.Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.


Elementary School Students

NoveList K-8
NoveList K-8 is your solution for integrating fiction across the curriculum. With a fun and intuitive interface, and extensive proprietary content, NoveList K-8 will be the resource you and your young readers turn to when looking for the next book to read.
Primary Search
Primary Search, designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library children’s rooms, contains full text for more than 60 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles)
Español

Referencia Latina
Referencia Latina, a comprehensive Spanish-language database, offers content from a variety of sources including 49,000 encyclopedia entries.

General

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier contains indexing for 8,025 publications, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles.
Image Collection
The Image Collection database consists of more than 1 million total images in these categories, with photographs, images from Canadian Press, Getty Images, and UPI, maps from Antenna Audio and photographs from public domain sourcesThe images consist of a wide array of photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other areas of coverage include contemporary and historical photos of people, places, and the natural kingdom.
MasterFILE Elite
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,050 general reference publications with coverage dating as far back as 1984. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Elite also includes 52 full text reference books and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps and flags.
Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.
Language Learning

Rosetta Stone
Rosetta Stone Inc. is dedicated to changing people’s lives through the power of language and literacy education. The company’s innovative, personalized language and reading programs drive positive learning outcomes in thousands of schools, businesses, government organizations and for millions of individual learners around the world.
Legal Information

Legal Information Reference Center
Providing exclusive online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, Legal Information Reference Center contains more than 225 full-text publications and thousands of legal forms, with more content being added on a regular basis. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation’s oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
Library Science

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
LISTA indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Literature

Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
NoveList
NoveList is a comprehensive readers’ advisory solution for fiction lovers. With an intuitive interface and extensive proprietary content, NoveList answers the question: What should I read next?
Middle School Students

MiddleSearch Plus
Middle Search Plus contains full text for more than 150 popular, middle school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 200 magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets.
NoveList K-8
NoveList K-8 is your solution for integrating fiction across the curriculum. With a fun and intuitive interface, and extensive proprietary content, NoveList K-8 will be the resource you and your young readers turn to when looking for the next book to read.
Science

GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects.

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

  1. Books
  2. Audio
  3. Movies
  4. Youth

Fiction:

Every Note Played by Lisa Genova

The Immortalists by Chloe Benjamin

My Last Love Story by Falguni Kothari

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Still Me by Jojo Moyes

Non-Fiction:

How Democracies Die by Daniel Ziblatt and Steven Levitsky

Jackie, Janet & Lee: The Secret Lives of Janet Auchincloss and Her Daughters, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis and Lee Radziwill by J. Randy Taraborrelli

Murder Beyond the Grave by James Patterson

Tell Me More: Stories About the 12 Hardest Things I'm Learning to Say by Kelly Corrigan

When They Call You a Terrorist: A Black Lives Matter Memoir by Patrisse Khan-Cullors and Asha Bandele

Audio

All-American Murder: The Rise and Fall of Aaron Hernandez, the Superstar Whose Life Ended on Murderer's Row by James Patterson and Alex Abramovich

Dark in Death: An Eve Dallas Novel by J.D. Robb

Everything Here Is Beautiful by Mira T. Lee

Fall from Grace: A Novel by Danielle Steel

Fire and Fury: Inside the Trump White House by Michael Wolff

Force of Nature: A Novel by Jane Harper

The Pope of Palm Beach: A Novel by Tim Dorsey

Sisters Like Us by Susan Mallery

White Chrysanthemum by Mary Lynn Bracht

The Wife: A Novel of Psychological Suspense by Alafair Burke

Movies:

Blade Runner 2049

Chasing the Dragon

The Foreigner

Goodbye Christopher Robin

IT

Jigsaw

Last Flag Flying

Loving Vincent

Marshall

Professor Marston & The Wonder Women

Juvenile

Black Panther The Young Prince (Marvel Black Panther) by Ronald L. Smith

Can I Touch Your Hair?: Poems of Race, Mistakes, and Friendship by Irene Latham and Charles Waters

Love Sugar Magic: A Dash of Trouble by Anna Meriano and Mirelle Ortega

Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls by Elena Favilli and Francesca Cavallo

The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

My So-Called Superpowers by Heather Nuhfer

TBH, This Is So Awkward by Lisa Greenwald

Truly Devious: A Mystery by Maureen Johnson

The Unicorn Quest by Kamilla Benko

Zenith: A Space Marines Novella by James David Victor



Join Our Mailing List

E-mail:*